Of funny laughs, quirks and you.

Hey, you.

I have been thinking about you lately. Coming across a photo of you and your friends while aimlessly scrolling through my Facebook timeline certainly has quite an effect in striking the nostalgic chord. It hit me hard, to realise that it has been far too long since I’ve last spoken to you. I know that we are both busy with our lives, but hey, that is just an excuse. What I realised next was worse: we drifted apart.

 

I remember trying a little too hard to keep up with you, because I didn’t want to lose a friend like you. I seize every opportunity to slip in a ‘hey, how’s it going?’ whenever I reply to your text messages. But I remember that it did not went as I expected: gradually, it became generic answers which inevitably turned out to what seems to be disinterest. I stopped trying, even though our friendship is one that I fully invested in keeping. Over the years, I kept myself preoccupied and focused on my studies. There were occasions that warrant conversations with you. You were welcoming and chatty as I remember, something that I like about you that puts me at ease. Despite that, I saw the subtle changes in you. You were… different. I didn’t know how to keep up with you anymore; we are both running through different race tracks now, both only comfortable in the tracks of our choice. I recall how much it hurt to see you different from the version and idea of you that I remembered. Nevertheless, my memory of you is hazy, covered in layers of dust, stowed away at the far corner of my mind.

 

I am glad that we spoke last year, albeit rather briefly. I hear stories about you from a mutual friend every now and then, and boy, I am so relieved to hear that you are still the same person who made that awkward conversation ending up with us bursting into fits of laughter which led us to being close friends. I wished that I had more perseverance to tip the scale, to make things work.

 

About time that I send the long-awaited catch up text message, eh? (I’ll get around to it, I promise.)

 

P.S. That laugh of yours? Hands down the funniest, and I bet that I’d still crack up when I hear it!

 
 

From,

Samz x
(just like old times šŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

