Run, and never stop

 

[First things first: I AM DONE WITH CLP EXAMS YAAAASSSSSSS FREEDOM IS HERE SCREW WORRYING ABOUT RESULTS I’VE GOT TO ENJOY MY TEMPORARY LIBERATION.]

 

*

 

Fact: I have always hated running.

Competing for the relay events during the annual sports year in high school certainly does not connote that I loved it or that I was good or fit. I was never the best, but not the worst.

I have stopped running since I dislocated my right kneecap (and eventually dislocating both altogether), and it was tough to pick it back up.

It was tough because I could not focus on running for more than 10 minutes, let alone a few kilometres.

I just stopped feeling the joy I used to enjoy from running.

Call it therapy or remedy, but I picked up running again this year.
Like many people, running became my temporary escape.
For a few minutes, for an hour,
I was free from my trouble and worries.

 

 

The initial progress was exhausting, painful, and gruesome – all I want to do after every run was to quit. But somehow, it became a big part of my routine. It became a discipline, it became something that I genuinely enjoy.

Starting my day before 6AM on four mornings in a week doesn’t feel like a chore.
I lay down my running gear the night before a run (for real).
I grew fond of peanut butter and banana toast; a perfect pre-run fuel.
KT Tape and knee guards are my best friends,
and so are my specially curated Spotify playlist and the Nike+ Running app.
The track and the lake are my safe havens.

 

What amazed me is completing my first 10K run under my target time (!!!) at the Standard Chartered Kuala Lumpur Marathon.

 

file4

file (2)

file1

file2

file3

 

From there on, it just keeps getting better.
Weekly 10K runs.
Clocking in more miles and new PBs.
Completing my first run on the road AND my first 16K run.
(Honestly I am amazed at how I did not faint or puked!)

 

In fact, running has also transcend into my outlook on life.

 

It helped me to deal with negativity,
to stay focused on my goals,
to accept defeat but to never give up,
to put in hard work and be persistent,
to believe that I can achieve anything
so long as I put my mind to it.

 

The best part?

 

I have never been happier in a very long while  🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

