this season has shown me…

 

  1. … how I take spending time with my loved ones (especially the elderly) for granted. I saw Grandma for the first time in 39 days yesterday. The caregivers at the nursing home were kind enough to oblige to my request, even if it means saying hi (waving frantically would be a more accurate description) from the front porch at a six feet distance. I left with tears welling up in my eyes after saying goodbye.
  2. … that there are people out there who cares for you. They come in simple forms like a phone call, a text message to check in with you, or a sharing a meme or funny video. Some go as far as care package in the form of food deliveries: from a DIY pizza kit to cheesecakes and to an entire meal from Village Roasted Duck. (thank you ❤)
  3. … how much little gestures are appreciated. I’ve ordered desserts to be delivered to friends, just because. It’s so nice to know that little pick-me-ups managed to turn someone’s day around.
  4. … how miraculous reaching out to people can be. I cannot emphasise how important the human connection is right now, especially when we are physically distancing from each other. While hugs are non-existent now, words are the new form of hugs. Reconnecting with a few friends and a significant someone has never felt so good.

 

 

 

Most of all, this season has shown me how much one would do out of love, putting behind grudges and pains of the past – even if it circumstances are different than before.

Stay safe and be well, everyone. May we continue to flatten the curve and put an end to this global pandemic.

Leave a comment